Bhupendra Patel: Fifth Gujarat CM from Patidar community – An appearance back

Bhupendra Patel New Gujarat Cm, Who Is Bhupendra Patel, Bhupendra Patel Profile, Patidar Community,
Image Source: PTI Gandhinagar: Bhupendra Patel takes oath as brand-new Chief Minister of Gujarat administered by Guv Acharya Devvrat during a swearing-in event at Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar, Monday, Sept. 13, 2021.

When BJP lawmaker Bhupendra Patel took oath as the brand-new Gujarat chief minister on Monday afternoon, he ended up being the fifth politician from the Patidar community to occupy the top post considering that the state’s formation in1960, indicating the clout wielded by the influential social group.

Gujarat has actually had 5 Patel chief ministers out of overall 17 since the state was formed 61 years ago.

Bhupendra Patel (59 ), the ruling BJP’s surprise pick for the top task, has actually taken charge when simply over a year is left for assembly polls in Gujarat, the house state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union House Minister Amit Shah.

He is the newbie MLA from Ghatlodia in Ahmedabad and his elevation is being seen as an attempt by the BJP to charm the Patidars ahead of the 2022 surveys and maintain its grip on Gujarat, which is under saffron rule for more than 2 years.

Prior to Bhupendra Patel, Gujarat saw Anandiben Patel, Keshubhai Patel, Babubhai Patel and Chimanbhai Patel as chief ministers belonging to the Patidar or Patel community.

LEARNT MORE: Bhupendrabhai Patel elected brand-new Gujarat CM in surprise relocation

Most of the other Chief Ministers were from the OBC community like Modi and Madhavsinh Solanki.

Bhupendra Patel, who took oath as the 17th CM of Gujarat at the Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar, is a newbie MLA and is considered near to Anandiben Patel, who had resigned from the top post in August 2016 following the statewide Patidar quota agitation which had actually turned violent.

Late Chimanbhai Patel, a Congressman, was the very first Patidar chief minister of Gujarat.

He presumed the workplace for the very first time in July 1973.
He resigned in February 1974 as a fallout of ‘Navnirman Andolan’, an agitation started by university student against a walking in hostel food bill.

Chimanbhai Patel when again became the CM in October 1990 and remained in workplace till his death in February 1994.

Late Babubhai Jasbhai Patel, a Janata Morcha and Janata Party leader, also held the CM’s post twice.His first term was between June 1975 and March 1976.
He assumed the office once again from April 1977 to February 1980.

Late Keshubhai Patel was the very first BJP Chief Minister of Gujarat.He assumed the office in March 1995 after the BJP acquired a definitive bulk in the Assembly surveys.

However, Keshubhai Patel resigned 7 months later on as his party colleague Shankersinh Vaghela, who desired to be the CM after BJP’s triumph, revolted against him.

The BJP, led by Keshubhai Patel, went back to power in the 1998 assembly elections and he as soon as again became the primary minister.However, he resigned too soon in October 2001, citing bad health, leading the way for Modi who held the CM’s post till 2014. After Modi left Gujarat in May 2014 to

take over as the Prime Minister, the BJP handed over the reins of Gujarat to Anandiben Patel, who objected to from the Ghatlodia Assembly seat of Ahmedabad. Nevertheless, she resigned in August 2016 citing BJP’s guideline(

not discussed in celebration constitution) which bars leaders above the age of 75 from holding any essential positions. Contrary to her claims, political professionals thought she resigned to stop the

anger of the agitating Patidar neighborhood, which was distressed at the BJP for declining the demand of providing OBC tag to the social group( to make its members eligible for quota in tasks and education ). In 2016, when Nitin Patel was seen as a strong competitor for the leading post, the BJP picked Vijay Rupani, a Jain, as the CM. The Patidars constitute 13 per cent to 14 percent of Gujarat’s population. FOUND OUT MORE: BJP leader Bhupendra Patel takes oath as 17th Gujarat Chief Minister Published at Mon, 13 Sep 2021 09:11:33 -0500